Bere island GAA 1996

Topics related to GAA
Post Reply
Site Admin
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:24 pm

Bere island GAA 1996

Post by admin » Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:39 pm


Bere Island 2-8, Adrigole 0-12. Bere Island caused a mild surprise when they defeated Adrigole in the first-ever Beara junior B football cham-C ionship which was sponsored y O'Donoghue.'s Bar, Castletownbere, and was played as a curtain-raiser to the junior A final in Glengarriff on Sunday, Gary Hilliard got the island off to a great start with a goal after foud minutes. Adrigole fought back well and were level at 1-1 to 0-4 in the 19th minute from a John Crowley point. With eight minutes to the break Gary Hilliard struck again for Bere Island's second goal. This gave Bere Island an interval lead of 2-2 to 0-6. Once again Adrigole whittled back the lead to draw level with ten minutes remaining. With time running out contraversy arose as regards the actual score. Any doubts were dispelled a minute from time when Barry Murphy floated over the insurance point.

Bere Island: Peter Harrington, John O'Sullivan, John Mullins (capt.), Gary Moriarty, John Harrington, Brendan Murphy, Frank Hanley, Michael O'Sullivan, Robbie Hilliard, James Harrington, Barry Murphy, Jimmy Crowley, Michael Orpen, Ned Murphy and Gary Hilliard.

Adrigole: Sean O'Sullivan, Dan O'Shea, Michael J. O'Sullivan, Neil O'Sullivan, Seanie O'Sullivan, Laurence O'Sullivan, Joe Downing, Declan O'Sullivan, Maurice Downing, Kevin Harrington, Peter O'Sullivan, Aidan C. O'Sullivan, Michtel M. O'Sullivan, John Crofley and Tim O'Sullivan. Subs.. Vincent Goggin, Tim O'Sullivan and Damien O'Sullivan.

Referee: Steve O'Sullivan.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests