Bere island GAA 2011

Topics related to GAA
Post Reply
Site Admin
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:24 pm

Bere island GAA 2011

Post by admin » Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:59 pm

Adrigole capture Junior B title ADRIGOLE 2•11 BERE ISLAND 1•2

BEFORE a large attendance at a well prepared Adrigole venue recently, Adrigole swept aside the Bere Island challenge to retain the Beara Junior B Football Championship Cup, which honours the memory of a past Adrigole player, Donal Jim O’Sullivan.

On a perfect day for football, the opening half was vigorously contested with scores hard to come by. There were a number of bouts of fisticuffs early in the game with referee F Quill dishing out several yellow cards before he eventually dished out a red card to a player from both sides after a schmozzle in the Adrigole goalmouth.

This reduced the game to a 12-a-side contest, as the game started at 13-a-side which tested the fitness of a number of players, particularly on the Adrigole side who contained a number of seasoned veterans, but they all responded impressively, particularly John O’Shea who was excellent throughout, Seanie Greene was as tight as ever at corner back while Brian Blake led the attack well throughout at centre forward.

Captain Timmy Glen O’Sullivan was rock solid at centre back, while the inside forwards Aidan Cremin and Fergus Carey worked hard throughout to create openings with both kicking some excellent scores.


After this both sides settled down to play some excellent football. Adrigole had early scores from local Garda Aidan Cremin and Brian Blake and, while Bere Island replied, a decisive score came in the later stages the first half when young Aaron Jer O’Sullivan cut through the Bere Island defence before parting to Fergus Carey who billowed the Bere Island net to leave the half-time score Adrigole 1-3 Bere Island 0-2.


Adrigole started the second half strongly with Paul Green and Chris Glen O’Sullivan taking control around the middle of the field, and a number of early scores gave them a commanding lead. Bere Island’s cause wasn’t helped when they lost the services of another key player through injury after shipping a heavy tackle.

Adrigole continued to dominate with John O’Shea and Paul Goggin giving nothing away at the back, and with their midfield continuing to dominate, the forwards got a plentiful supply of ball and continued to tack on the scores, with Aaron Jer and Eoin Green O’Sullivan particularly impressive, while goalkeeper Aidan Finn O’Sullivan made a number of excellent saves.

The result was sealed when Aaron Jer O’Sullivan scored Adrigole’s second goal and they could afford the luxury of introducing a full complement of substitutes late in the game, and it was one of these who got the biggest cheer of the day, veteran Joe Crowley who kicked two points on his introduction.

After the game, Michael Joe O’Sullivan, vice-chairman of the Beara Board, presented the cup to a delighted winning captain, Timmy Glen O’Sullivan.

Adrigole: Aidan Finn O’Sullivan, Paul Goggin, Seanie O’Sullivan Greene, John O’Shea, Timmy Glen O’Sullivan, Michael Neill, Chris Glen O’Sullivan, Paul Green, Eoin O’Sullivan Greene, Brian Blake, Aaron Jer O’Sullivan, Fergus Carey, Aidan Cremin. Subs: Stephen O’Sullivan, Joe Crowley, Timmy Lynch, Danny O’Neill, Zeb Schillig.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests